BANKROLL FORUM

Comments

• BradfordEra

Hello everyone,

I am trying to be a cash game player and I was wondering if anyone had an opinion on which cash game contests were the best for building a bankroll. I had it in my head that the way to go would be 50/50’s and H2H’s. But of course I am no expert so I was wondering if anyone had any insight or tips on which contests would be best for building a bankroll over time.

Thank you in advance

• tooltime

I think you should try both and see we which one you do better in and/or enjoy playing more. Some people or better at one over the other. I prefer double ups, the cash line is very close to 50/50s. When I cash in a 50/50 I still feel like I lost $. When you play 50/50s you will see many teams and people who play lineups they buy. Alot of them also post h2hs. See what ones you are beating in the 50/50s & take their h2hs.

• DomTwan

H2Hs are the best way to reduce variance.

• slcseas

Rake is a fair bit higher on the DUs and 50/50s. In general I would say avoid them until you are feeling confident and can take on more action.

• VChair23

RG Overall Ranking

I prefer 50/50s and double ups. I think it will come down to personal choice, play whatever you’ll enjoy the most or whatever you have the most success in.

• CleverGroom

@slcseas said...

Rake is a fair bit higher on the DUs and 50/50s. In general I would say avoid them until you are feeling confident and can take on more action.

Rake shouldn’t be any different from H2H on 50/50s: 10%. A lot of the higher buy-in 50/50s are lower than 10%, in fact.

The point is fair with multipliers like double-ups. Unless you have a strong personal preference, I’d give my blessing to play any H2Hs or 50/50s that you’d like. Smaller buy-ins are safer from sharks, so don’t be afraid to stay low if you’re relatively small-time like me. Less incentive to waste time with $1 contests when you’re betting five or six figures a week.