STRATEGY FORUM

Comments

• tiltatout

Hi everyone,

I have a quick question. I am in the process of developing my NFL LU building model (a lot of work and fun!) But I am struggling to find “previous data” on which I could back-test and optimize my model. I can think of a ton of different data that are available every week that I would like to try and incorporate in some ways into the model (starting with projections from different sources, vegas odds etc…) but it seems crazy to just come up with something and not test it.

This might seem like an odd question to you, it’s probably due to the fact that I am new to DFS and I am actually new to American sport in general (moved to NY 2 month ago from Europe ^^), so I come to DFS from a gambling background (poker, blackjack, trading…) rather than a “sports fan” one.

How do you guys do it ? Do you just build your model on your “gut” and slowly collect data/test and adjust it ? Is there a source out there with this kind of data ?

At the moment I mainly use FantasyPros, FFtoday and the NFL injury report because these are the only ones where you can get past data easily (and pro-football to get actual results)

Would love to discuss with some other model builders out there ;)

Best

• tiltatout

No response ? ^^ Am I fooling myself in thinking that developing at least a “semi-automated” model to DFS is the future and that a lot of people are doing it ? Or do people simply don’t want to share this kind of info ? (which I would understand but I find it a bit sad since I would’ve been happy to talk about it with some people)

• BobGrinder

What info are you looking for? It’s all available so I’m not sure what it is exactly you’re not finding but if you if you get specific I’ll try to point you in the right direction. You’re probably going to have to do some work getting it into the form you want though.

• theoddsmaker

previous data? Like passing yards and whatnot or player ownership %?

• louiescards

DK KoTH winner