The NFL Field Report: Week 15

The Field Report is designed to give you a look into the most popular plays from FanDuel’s Thursday Night action.

In order to truly separate your entry from the rest of the field, you need to create a very unique roster. In GPPs especially, playing along with the rest of your opponents won’t get you very far. The rules are much different in H2Hs and 50/50s, but in tournaments where you need to beat ALL of your opponents (e.g. major qualifiers), you need to take risks and use a player or two that you know will be lightly owned.

The percentages in the tables below come from the FanDuel $2 Snap, which has 114,943 entries. The listed players are ones that I have identified for a variety of reasons, but if you don’t see “your guy” here, post below in the comments and I will do my best to get you a percentage.

Quarterbacks

Player % Owned
“(player-popup)Russell Wilson”:/players/russell-wilson-13560 ($8.8K) 23.70%
“(player-popup)Blake Bortles”:/players/blake-bortles-18186 ($7.9K) 9.40%
“(player-popup)Cam Newton”:/players/cam-newton-11630 ($9.4K) 8.50%
“(player-popup)Matthew Stafford”:/players/matthew-stafford-11613 ($7.8K) 8.30%
“(player-popup)Drew Brees”:/players/drew-brees-11605 ($8.0K) 7.50%
“(player-popup)Carson Palmer”:/players/carson-palmer-11851 ($8.7K) 7.30%
“(player-popup)Tom Brady”:/players/tom-brady-11604 ($9.5K) 5.50%
“(player-popup)Tyrod Taylor”:/players/tyrod-taylor-11656 ($7.5K) 2.70%
“(player-popup)AJ McCarron”:/players/aj-mccarron-18045 ($6.0K) 2.60%
“(player-popup)Ben Roethlisberger”:/players/ben-roethlisberger-11615 ($8.0K) 2.20%
“(player-popup)Alex Smith”:/players/alex-smith-11608 ($7.0K) 2.00%
“(player-popup)Aaron Rodgers”:/players/aaron-rodgers-11601 ($9.0K) 1.90%
“(player-popup)Philip Rivers”:/players/philip-rivers-11603 ($7.4K) 1.50%
“(player-popup)Matt Ryan”:/players/matt-ryan-11614 ($7.2K) 1.50%
“(player-popup)Eli Manning”:/players/eli-manning-11611 ($7.2K) 1.00%
“(player-popup)Derek Carr”:/players/derek-carr-18330 ($7.2K) 0.90%
“(player-popup)Ryan Tannehill”:/players/ryan-tannehill-13557 ($6.9K) 0.80%


No surprise here with Russell Wilson leading the way by a large margin. Not only is he playing out of his mind lately but finds himself in a plus matchup at home against the Browns. If we are looking to go against the grain then Tom Brady stands out as a solid choice against a very weak Titans secondary with the RB situation a question mark. The Brees/Stafford showdown has all the makings of a shootout with neither defense able to stop the opposition with regularity this year.

Running Backs

Player % Owned
“(player-popup)David Johnson”:/players/david-johnson-21774 ($6.5K) 22.10%
“(player-popup)Adrian Peterson”:/players/adrian-peterson-11669 ($8.6K) 19.90%
“(player-popup)Lamar Miller”:/players/lamar-miller-13567 ($6.7K) 15.30%
“(player-popup)DeAngelo Williams”:/players/deangelo-williams-11691 ($7.0K) 11.60%
“(player-popup)Eddie Lacy”:/players/eddie-lacy-16535 ($6.9K) 11.10%
“(player-popup)Denard Robinson”:/players/denard-robinson-16576 ($6.3K) 10.20%
“(player-popup)Tim Hightower”:/players/tim-hightower-18713 ($6.3K) 7.30%
“(player-popup)Charcandrick West”:/players/charcandrick-west-18322 ($5.9K) 7.10%
“(player-popup)LeSean McCoy”:/players/lesean-mccoy-11671 ($7.9K) 7.00%
“(player-popup)Jeremy Hill”:/players/jeremy-hill-18042 ($6.0K) 6.50%
“(player-popup)Devonta Freeman”:/players/devonta-freeman-18261 ($8.4K) 6.40%
James White ($6.4K) 5.00%
“(player-popup)Brandon Bolden”:/players/brandon-bolden-13620 ($5.5K) 4.10%
“(player-popup)Fozzy Whittaker”:/players/fozzy-whittaker-16621 ($4.8K) 2.30%
“(player-popup)Latavius Murray”:/players/latavius-murray-18332 ($5.9K) 2.30%
“(player-popup)Matt Forte”:/players/matt-forte-11675 ($7.9K) 2.00%
Javorius Allen ($6.6K) 1.60%
Ronnie Hillman ($6.4K) 0.50%


To be honest I expected the cheaper options to be higher owned here with plenty notice on guys like Whittaker specifically. I like all of the top owned players here with a guy in each price range available. Keeping with the tradition of picking a guy who gives us a good performance a week late, McCoy is that guy this weekend. He wasn’t horrible last week but did not live up to the expectations of his owners. This weekend I could see him being one of the leading backs.

Wide Receivers

Player % Owned
“(player-popup)Doug Baldwin”:/players/doug-baldwin-13090 ($7.4K) 37.40%
“(player-popup)Tyler Lockett”:/players/tyler-lockett-21808 ($6.0K) 14.90%
“(player-popup)Jeremy Maclin”:/players/jeremy-maclin-12163 ($6.7K) 14.70%
“(player-popup)Sammy Watkins”:/players/sammy-watkins-18124 ($7.2K) 14.70%
Ted Ginn Jr. ($6.6K) 14.30%
“(player-popup)Allen Robinson”:/players/allen-robinson-18179 ($8.1K) 13.50%
Calvin Johnson ($8.0K) 12.90%
“(player-popup)Julio Jones”:/players/julio-jones-12896 ($8.6K) 12.80%
“(player-popup)Michael Floyd”:/players/michael-floyd-13582 ($6.1K) 12.80%
“(player-popup)John Brown”:/players/john-brown-18357 ($6.3K) 11.00%
“(player-popup)DeAndre Hopkins”:/players/deandre-hopkins-16563 ($8.7K) 10.40%
“(player-popup)Golden Tate”:/players/golden-tate-12738 ($6.9K) 9.10%
“(player-popup)A.J. Green”:/players/a-j-green-12897 ($8.7K) 8.20%
“(player-popup)Brandin Cooks”:/players/brandin-cooks-18281 ($7.0K) 7.00%
“(player-popup)Odell Beckham”:/players/odell-beckham-18222 ($9.1K) 6.40%
“(player-popup)Antonio Brown”:/players/antonio-brown-12322 ($8.8K) 6.00%
“(player-popup)Larry Fitzgerald”:/players/larry-fitzgerald-12162 ($7.2K) 5.10%
“(player-popup)Randall Cobb”:/players/randall-cobb-12905 ($7.2K) 4.80%
Martavis Bryant ($7.1K) 4.60%
“(player-popup)Jarvis Landry”:/players/jarvis-landry-18126 ($7.1K) 4.50%
“(player-popup)Willie Snead”:/players/willie-snead-18053 ($6.0K) 4.20%
“(player-popup)Allen Hurns”:/players/allen-hurns-18182 ($7.0K) 4.00%
Danny Amendola ($7.0K) 3.10%
“(player-popup)Demaryius Thomas”:/players/demaryius-thomas-12324 ($7.7K) 2.70%
“(player-popup)Alshon Jeffery”:/players/alshon-jeffery-13584 ($7.9K) 2.30%
Michael Crabtree ($6.7K) 2.10%
T.Y. Hilton ($7.0K) 1.80%
Emannuel Sanders ($7.1K) 0.90%
Amari Cooper ($6.9K) 0.90%
Rueben Randle ($5.6K) 0.80%
DeVante Parker ($5.9K) 0.40%
DeSean Jackson ($6.4K) 0.30%


Wow! I knew Baldwin would be a popular pick but it is not too often you have a WR this highly owned let alone one that is not named Jones, Beckham, Hopkins, or Brown. Look I like Baldwin a lot this week just as I did last week, but there is merit to fading him in tournaments at this ownership percentage. If you are looking for a solid low owned option or two then Alshon Jeffery and Demaryius Thomas both stand out to me. They both have a good price point and should be in line for another heavy dose of targets this weekend.

Tight Ends

Player % Owned
“(player-popup)Jordan Reed”:/players/jordan-reed-16587 ($6.3K) 17.70%
“(player-popup)Rob Gronkowski”:/players/rob-gronkowski-11791 ($8.5K) 11.80%
“(player-popup)Antonio Gates”:/players/antonio-gates-11783 ($5.8K) 11.30%
“(player-popup)Benjamin Watson”:/players/benjamin-watson-11798 ($5.6K) 11.30%
“(player-popup)Julius Thomas”:/players/julius-thomas-11821 ($6.2K) 8.60%
Richard Rodgers ($5.5K) 6.50%
“(player-popup)Delanie Walker”:/players/delanie-walker-11841 ($6.3K) 4.00%
“(player-popup)Gary Barnidge”:/players/gary-barnidge-12767 ($6.4K) 3.50%
“(player-popup)Greg Olsen”:/players/greg-olsen-11819 ($6.8K) 3.50%
“(player-popup)Travis Kelce”:/players/travis-kelce-18314 ($6.0K) 3.10%
“(player-popup)Zach Miller”:/players/zach-miller-18549 ($5.5K) 2.40%
Heath Miller ($5.6K) 1.30%

Kickers

Player % Owned
“(player-popup)Stephen Gostkowski”:/players/stephen-gostkowski-11545 ($5.1K) 9.60%
“(player-popup)Chris Boswell”:/players/chris-boswell-18159 ($5.0K) 9.20%
“(player-popup)Matt Prater”:/players/matt-prater-11559 ($4.5K) 7.60%
“(player-popup)Graham Gano”:/players/graham-gano-14020 ($5.0K) 6.80%
“(player-popup)Cairo Santos”:/players/cairo-santos-18324 ($4.8K) 6.00%
“(player-popup)Steven Hauschka”:/players/steven-hauschka-11563 ($5.0K) 4.90%
“(player-popup)Blair Walsh”:/players/blair-walsh-13603 ($4.6K) 4.40%
“(player-popup)Chandler Catanzaro”:/players/chandler-catanzaro-18352 ($5.0K) 3.90%
“(player-popup)Brandon McManus”:/players/brandon-mcmanus-18228 ($4.8K) 3.80%
“(player-popup)Mike Nugent”:/players/mike-nugent-11567 ($4.7K) 3.30%
Josh Brown ($4.7K) 2.70%

Defenses

Player % Owned
Seattle Seahawks ($5.4K) 25.10%
Kansas City Chiefs ($5.2K) 11.40%
New England Patriots ($5.0K) 7.40%
Cincinnati Bengals ($4.9K) 7.30%
Carolina Panthers ($5.1K) 7.00%
Pittsburgh Steelers ($4.6K) 4.80%
Houston Texans ($4.8K) 4.20%
Jacksonville Jaguars ($4.4K) 2.40%
Arizona Cardinals ($5.2K) 2.20%
Indianapolis Colts ($4.1K) 1.80%
Denver Broncos ($5.0K) 1.10%
Green Bay Packers ($4.8K) 1.10%

Thursday/Saturday Game Notables

Player % Owned
“(player-popup)Todd Gurley”:/players/todd-gurley-21785 ($8.9K) 15.60%
“(player-popup)Brandon Marshall”:/players/brandon-marshall-12192 ($8.5K) 12.20%
“(player-popup)Doug Martin”:/players/doug-martin-13565 ($8.2K) 9.50%
“(player-popup)Chris Ivory”:/players/chris-ivory-11990 ($7.2K) 9.00%
“(player-popup)Eric Decker”:/players/eric-decker-12404 ($7.5K) 7.40%
“(player-popup)Mike Evans”:/players/mike-evans-18287 ($7.9K) 7.20%
New York Jets ($4.9K) 6.30%
“(player-popup)Jameis Winston”:/players/jameis-winston-21745 ($7.4K) 4.40%
“(player-popup)Ryan Fitzpatrick”:/players/ryan-fitzpatrick-11626 ($7.8K) 4.20%
Connor Barth ($4.7K) 3.60%
Darren McFadden ($6.8K) 1.90%
Randy Bullock ($4.8K) 1.90%
“(player-popup)Greg Zuerlein”:/players/greg-zuerlein-13602 ($4.5K) 1.70%
Jason Witten ($5.6K) 1.00%
Dez Bryant ($6.9K) 0.70%

About the Author

  • Andrew Cook (louiescards)

  • Andrew “LouiesCards” Cook is a DFS veteran who has been playing since 2009. You will see him grinding MLB, NBA, and NFL with a main focus on DraftKings. Over the years he has held several roles at RotoGrinders helping write articles and features, both in-front and behind-the-scenes. Andrew was able to throw the first pitch out at a St. Louis Cardinals game, courtesy of DraftKings. You can follow Andrew on twitter @louiescards

  • Richebee

    Aaron Rodgers at 1.9% lawl

    Emmanuel Sanders at less than 1%

    I should be able to make an all world contrarian team this weekend

  • blakevoiles

    Diggs % ? I decided to target raiders vs packers especially since sam shields is looking doubtful and after looking at percentages, I’m glad I did.

  • ptothedo

    Thought Palmer would be in the top 3 and you’re right, Jeffrey and Thomas are too low. Brock might have to throw the ball 50 times again.

  • icecase88

  • sberger

    eric ebron?

  • sberger

    bolden is on there at 4.10%

  • bluesjack

    Kind of surprised at Brady’s low ownership vs that dumpster fire known as the Titan’s secondary

  • louiescards

    DK KoTH winner

    @blakevoiles said...

    Diggs % ? I decided to target raiders vs packers especially since sam shields is looking doubtful and after looking at percentages, I’m glad I did.

    Just under 2%

  • louiescards

    DK KoTH winner

    @sberger said...

    eric ebron?

    Also just under 2%

  • wiggitywhack

    Bryce Brown?

    I forgot he wasn’t added to their roster until Monday and is not on most sites. n/m

  • Tj0575

    @bluesjack said...

    Kind of surprised at Brady’s low ownership vs that dumpster fire known as the Titan’s secondary

    I was thinking the same thing

  • tfed1

    theo riddick?

  • Nilla143

    Love these even though I should’ve thrown the towel in week six and can’t help myself this article always gives a great perspective. Nice job louiescards

  • 150halfmiler

    I notice that people who win these GPPs on fan duel have new accounts and have barely played in any contests. Has anyone else noticed that? It seems following ownership percentages have a higher success in 50/50s and head to heads.

  • X Unread Thread
  • X Thread with New Replies*
  • *Jumps to your first unread reply

New to DFS?

Be sure to click through our links and use our exclusive promo codes to receive the industry's best sign-up bonuses, including free access to our premium content.

RotoGrinders.com is the home of the daily fantasy sports community. Our content, rankings, member blogs, promotions and forum discussion all cater to the players that like to create a new fantasy team every day of the week.

If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, crisis counseling and referral services can be accessed by calling 1-800-GAMBLER (1-800-426-2537) (IL). Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (NJ/WV/PA/MI), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN), 1-800-522-4700 (CO), 1-800-BETS OFF (IA), 1-888-532-3500 (VA) or call/text TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN).